The Chicago-style deep dish saga continues

So this is seriously the 8th pizza I’ve baked in the last 3 weeks.  To say the least, my family is getting really tired of eating pizza.  I could never think of such a thing!  Pizza is like air to me.  I need it to live…..OK, that’s a bit of an exaggeration.  Pizza everyday and I would be one, happy camper.

another fabulous deep dish dough resting

another fabulous deep dish dough resting

With 7 pizzas behind me, I’m not giving up in achieving that ‘perfect’ deep dish – Chicago-style!  My goal is to get something close to the look and taste of Lou Malnati’s style.

You know what that’s like?  It’s a firm, crunch, sturdy of a crush….not bready, but sturdy is the right word.   The crust is not too buttery, nor too bland or sweet.  It’s a nice combination of a little buttery taste, a little sweet.

The cheese is outstanding and nutty.  The sauce is not sweet or too salty.  I think I’m getting closer to the deep dish pizza I have in my mind…..crossing fingers!

Leave a Reply

